Just Write Cat

One Writer, One Journey

What’s In It For You? October 14, 2010

Filed under: Life,You Can't Do It Alone — justwritecat @ 4:16 pm
Tags: , ,

Oh my, I’ve been busy. This says something about my personality – this past month I’ve taken on a few projects. I’m working on a couple of guest posts for Inky Fresh Press, finishing up an article for NW Kids, and oh yeah – running my son’s book fair at his school. Through all this, I’ve not spent time on my own blog. For that, I apologize!

But…this is all good stuff I’m doing. In another post I’ll comment on writing articles and even something on the book fair, but for now – here’s my thoughts on writing for another blog.

Writing a guest post is a new experience. I do write the blog for a local magazine, but as I’m the only blogger I have rather free rein on what and how I write. When you submit a post as a guest, you need to think about the overall content of that blog, what they’re looking for, their intended audience. It’s a challenge, but in a very good way. It’s made me question the purpose of my own blog. I started it to sort of keep track of my progress as ‘someone wanting to get a book out there’. Over time I’ve realized my blog is more about being a writer in general. Meaning, not having that singular goal in mind, but embracing writing as a life. And that includes more than writing – it includes how I see and handle things.

Example – I’m more observant of ‘life scenes’. I’ve always felt drawn to observing human interaction (my M.A. is in Sociology), but I never really paid much attention to setting. That became painfully obvious when I started writing my first novel. I couldn’t describe places at all. My son said I should go with ‘a person standing on some street by a random house’, which I admit sounds kind of funny – but not very descriptive. I started pushing myself to notice my surroundings more and more, and to take in not just the players in a scene, but the entire setting. It’s helped, though this is still an area that proves challenging.

Another example – writing lowers my stress in ways I would not have imagined. When someone does something that really ticks me off, I create a character out of that person.  And then I do something really bad (or embarrassing) to that character in a story.  Hehehe. Only strangers, though – well, maybe a couple of people I sort of know (like kinda strangers). It’s quite cathartic.

This is a bit of a rambling post, which sort of goes with the point I’m trying to make (yes, I have one). Why do I write this blog? Is it for myself, or for other writers? I initially wanted to help other writers – and I want to make sure I’m reaching that goal. So how can I make this blog more about you? 

What would you like to see more of/less of?  I want to do a contest – and I’ve got that almost figured out. After my son’s book fair (next week), I’ll have the time to blog about it. Until then – please, let me know what kind of information you might find useful as a fellow writer. I’m at a point where I feel a lack of purpose in this blog – or a clear purpose, at least.  Can you help me out?

 

One Response to “What’s In It For You?”

  1. kimkircher Says:

    Catherine,

    Sound like you’ve had a productive month. Good for you. I love the idea of a contest, as well as the information you’ve gleaned from your efforts to get published. I know what you mean about re-focussing your blog. I’m asking myself some of these same questions. I want readers to get something out of it.

    If you’re focussing on writers as your readers, I always find contests and help with queries useful. Or how about readers send in the first sentence of their WIP and we can all comment and offer suggestions? Or ditto with query letters? Or maybe you could have a contest for the best “story from the trenches” of trying to get an agent/editor? Or the best piece of advice? Right now, I’m looking for help with promotion ideas. How about a contest for the most “out of the box” promo idea for a book? You could also start a blog party–sort of like a progressive dinner party–where someone comments here, then the next reader comments then goes to the previous reader’s blog, makes a comment, etc. Each person to comment here also ends up with at least one comment at their own blog, so it’s a win-win.

    Just some thoughts. Hope that helps. I

    Kim


Leave a Reply

