Just Write Cat

One Writer, One Journey

In honor of Dr. Seuss June 22, 2010

Filed under: Where Did That Come From?? — justwritecat @ 10:42 pm
Tags: , ,

Say, did you know it was the celebration of Dr. Seuss’ birthday?  Um…a few months ago.  I feel really bad that I missed it, given how much I love his books.  To rectify my oversight, I thought I’d may homage with my own version of Green Eggs and Ham.  I’m still tweaking it, but at this rate…I can either wait until next year’s celebration or post it ‘as is’ now. 

Enjoy!

I am Writer

 

I am Writer

Writer I am

 

That Writer-I-am

That Writer-I-am!

I do not like

that Writer-I-am

 

Will you read

my manuscript

 

I will not read it,

Writer-I-am,

I will not read

your manuscript.

 

Would you read it

Here or there?

 

I would not read it

here or there.

I would not read it

anywhere.

I will not read

your manuscript,

I will not read it

Writer-I-am

 

Would you read it

if done at a vanity house

Would you read it  

with a weremouse?

 

I will not read it

if done at a vanity house.

I will not read it

with a weremouse.

I will not read it

here or there.

I will not read it

anywhere.

I will not read your manuscript.

I will not read it, Writer-I-am.

 

Would you read it

if I revised?

Would you read it

if I tried?

 

Not if you revised.

Not if your tried.

Not done at a vanity house.

Not with a weremouse.

I would not read it here or there.

I would not read it anywhere.

I would not read your manuscript.

I will not read it, Writer-I-am.

 

Would you?  Could you?

with a kid who’s a wiz?

Read it!  Read it!

Here it is..

 

I would not,

could not,

 with a kid who’s a wiz.

 

You may like it.

You will see.

You may like it

with a zombie.

 

Not with a zombie.

I would not, could not with a zombie.

Not with anything!  You let me be.

 

I will not read it if revised.

I will not read it if you tried.

I will not read it if done at a vanity house.

I will not read it with a weremouse.

I will not read it here or there.

I will not read it anywhere.

I will not read your manuscript.

I will not read it, Writer-I-am.

 

An apocalyptic!  An apocalyptic!

An apocalyptic!  An apocalyptic!

Could you, would you

as an apocalyptic?

 

Not as an apocalyptic!  Not with a zombie!

Not with a kid who’s a wiz.  Writer! Let me be!

I  would not, could not, if revised.

I could not, would not, if you tried.

I will not read it with a weremouse.

I will not read it if done at a vanity house.

I will not read it here or there.

I will not read it anywhere.

I will not read it, Writer-I-am.

 

Say!

What about a YA?

Here, now it’s a YA!

Would you, could you, as a YA?

 

I would not, could not,

as a YA.

 

Would you, could you,

with a vampire?

 

I would not, could not, with a vampire

Not as a YA.  Not as an apocalyptic. 

Not with a kid who’s a wiz.  Not with a zombie.

I do not like it.  Writer, you see.

Not if done in a vanity house. Not if revised.

Not with a weremouse.  Not if you tried.

I will not read it here or there.

I will not read it anywhere.

 

You will not read

my manuscript?

 

I will not

read it

Writer-I-am.

 

Could you, would you

if self-pubbed?

 

I would not,

could not,

if self-pubbed!

 

Would you, could you,

if my mom said she loved?

 

I could not, would not, if your mom said she loved.

I will not, will not, if self-pubbed.

I will not read it with a vampire

I will not read it an apocalyptic

Not as a YA, not with a zombie

Not with a wiz kid.  You let me be!

I will not read it if revised

I will not read it if you tried.

I will not read from a vanity house

I will not read with a weremouse

I will not read it here or there

I will not read it ANYWHERE!

 

I will not read

your

manuscript!

 

I will not like it,

Writer-I-am.

 

You will not like it,

SO you say.

Read it!  Read it!

And you may.

Read it and you may love it I say.

 

Writer!

If you will stop querying me,

I will read it.

You will see.

 

Say!

I read your manuscript!

And I do! I love it, Writer-I-am!

And I would read more, too.

I want to read more manuscripts from you!

And I will read it if your mom loved.

And I will read it if self-pubbed.

And I will read it with a vampire.

And a YA.  And with an apocalypse.

And with a kid who’s a wiz.  And with a zombie.

This one is so good, so good you see!

 

So I will read them because you tried.

And I will read them once revised.

And I will read the one done in a vanity house.

And I will read one with a weremouse.

And I will read them here and there.

          Say! I will read them ANYWHERE.           

 

So I will rep YOU,

I do so like

your manuscript!

Thank you!

Thank you!

Writer-I-am.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “In honor of Dr. Seuss”

  1. Loved the post! LOL! That sums up a writer’s life. BTW, great mention by The Janet Reid. She liked it or to quote her exactly “best examples of stories in under 100 words”. Awesome.

  2. justwritecat Says:

    Thank you, Latoya! I know – wow, getting mentioned like that….it gives me hope!

    I enter so many contests – and to get noticed, that really does give my confidence a boost. Sometimes that’s what it takes – someone else to say ‘hey, your stuff isn’t all that bad!” 🙂

    Let me know what you think of Bird by Bird. I keep trying to set aside time to review books on my blog….I admire your dedication to sharing your thoughts on the books you read!

    Cat

    • Latoya Alloway Says:

      I couldn’t agree more, not to mention the fact that Janet Reid is a very tough critic. Thank you for the encouragement on the book reviews. I hope to remain consistent but sometimes life gets in the way. I will definitely discuss Bird by Bird with you as soon as possible. I would love to hear your thoughts on the book–as soon as I read it.

  3. Bryan Sabol Says:

    This cracked me up, Cat!

    -And I, too, smiled when I saw “JustWriteCat” listed in Janet Reid’s blog. Well done!

    Hey, you going to PWNA this summer? I am. Maybe I’ll bump into you?


Leave a Reply

