Just Write Cat

One Writer, One Journey

More Contests and Giveaways! March 10, 2010

Filed under: Baby Steps, Baby Steps — justwritecat @ 1:34 am
Tags:

I subscribe to many blogs – perhaps too many given how much time I spend reading said blogs, but I consider it time well-spent.  It’s important to feel that connection with other writers, both beginning and published.  It keeps me going, gives me that extra hit of confidence so necessary for new writers (or maybe all writers???).  And, by perusing blogs, you find out about awesome contests!  Book-giveaways, query critiques, opening lines….there are many contests worth checking out.  And the way I look at it – even if I don’t win, I’m putting myself and my work out there. 

Here are a few current contests:

Dear Lucky Agent contest at the always informative Guide to Literary Agents website.  I sent my entry last week, and learned a great deal about writing loglines (namely, that I’m not all that good at it).  This one is open until March 14 – so start writing those loglines!

Shooting Stars is hosting a Fantabulous Followers Giveaway, where prizes include books & other goodies.  Top prize super cool and perfect for unagented writers.  But you’ll have to check out the contest for the details! 

YA author Elana Johnson has a book-giveaway contest.  Details are here: Signed Book GiveAway  While you’re reading about the contest, check out the covers on the books she’s giving away.  I LOVE looking at YA book covers.  They are often fantastic.  Hmmm, what might the cover of my book look like (hey, it’s important to dream)??

If you know of any other contests, please send along and I’ll add them to this blog and send out a tweet. 

Happy Contesting….

Catherine

 

2 Responses to “More Contests and Giveaways!”

  1. It is so important to dream. Without that, what do we have, really? Thanks for the linkage, and good luck to you!

  2. You can never offer too many contest updates! Thanks, Cat!


Leave a Reply

