Just Write Cat

One Writer, One Journey

Out of the Writing Closet September 8, 2009

Filed under: You Can't Do It Alone — justwritecat @ 3:58 am

Today I came out, from the writing closet, to my neighbors.  My family and I attended our first block party in our new neighborhood.  It was great to meet more neighbors, chat a bit about how the kids are growing up too fast and where the best place for food is around here (Portland won, hands down).  And when asked what I did, I took a deep breath and said – I’m a writer.  There, I did it.  And not a single person laughed.  While I did not really expect any kind neighbor to have that reaction, that little demon of insecurity told me they might.  Damn that obnoxious little guy, trying to foil my plans and thwart my dreams.  Damn him straight back to Hades – his petty taunts, too.

To have the confidence to pursue one’s dreams is something, to have the support of those around you is glorious indeed.  I’m not saying you cannot muster enough belief in yourself to make it, but when you tell someone you’re pursuing a dream – and they treat it as an attainable goal, it doesn’t hurt.

So surround yourself with well-wishers, find a few fellow writers who share that dream – and write.

 

3 Responses to “Out of the Writing Closet”

  1. Hah! Take that you Inner Critic you! Does yours have a name? Mine is Gretchen. Bravo for giving the imp a time out. Doesn’t it feel great to be out of the closet?

  2. justwritecat Says:

    Good question – since I’ve always been my worst critic, guess I keep calling her Catherine. And yes it does!

  3. My Gretchen is a real character. You can read about her at http://snurl.com/rs50k. My muse’s name is Sarabelle, and she flits in and out rather capriously. When she’s good, she’s very, very good, but she’s more like Mary Martin in her Peter Pan outfit than curly.

    Have fun with your writing. May it be a blessing and joy to both you and your readers.


Leave a Reply

