Just Write Cat

One Writer, One Journey

Nearing the beginning of the end… August 18, 2009

Filed under: Baby Steps, Baby Steps,Writing — justwritecat @ 4:29 am

Three cheers and a ‘yeah, baby’ – slightly over 60,000 words as of this evening.  As Michael Buble sings, “and I’m feeling good.”  Hey, maybe others sing it too.  But for me, it’s Buble.  This genre – urban fantasy/paranormal noir – calls for an 80,000 – 100,000 word manuscript for a new writer (unpublished).  Mine will be closer to the lower range, although that could change after revision.  Last night I worked on knocking down that first domino, tonight the others started to fall.  After they all topple to the ground, it’s a few solid good-byes, a couple of see-ya-laters and my first draft is done. 

Then the hard part begins, right?  Revision, revision, and more revision.  Actually, I’m rather looking forward to the revision part.  I know some of the things I need to add – more setting peppered throughout, slightly more backstory maybe.  Couple more action scenes might be warranted.  The part I’m really look forward to is getting in there and getting messy.  Taking each scene apart, word by word, and hacking away or building up as needed.  Fine tuning.  Polish and shine.  That’s the goal.  I can’t wait.  Because if you are revising your first draft that means…you have a first draft.  Which means…you have something tangible in your little ink-stained or keyboard-strained hands.  And that must be a golden feeling, indeed.  I don’t know that feeling yet.  But when I do, I’ll let you know if it’s as good as I think it’ll be.  I’ll let you know in about 24,000 more words.  Or about 100 pages.  Or two weeks, because I’m hitting 2,000 – 3,000 words a day, six days a week per Stephen King’s suggestion.    I know that last part sounds like bragging, but it’s not.  It’s encouragement – to all writers out there who may think you’ll never finish your first draft.  And it’s encouragement to me for those times when I’m tired or think I can’t get ‘into character’.  Then I can come to my blog and read the part that shows me ‘oh yes, you can’.  Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

