Just Write Cat

One Writer, One Journey

PNWA Conference – Query Session August 6, 2009

Filed under: Writing — justwritecat @ 1:03 am

Well, I never had a moment to post any blogs on the PNWA conference.  I was too busy attending workshops, meeting fellow new writers and finding the courage to speak with agents.  The conference was fantastic – all I hoped it would be and so much more.  I am going to post a few blogs on various aspects of the conference.  This one is one the query letter or pitch. 

One of the sessions allowed writers to submit a query, to be read and commented upon by agents.  I attended this session, not sure if I really wanted by query read or not!  Well…it was…and turns out, all the hard work really helped.  All four agents said they liked the query.  It was cool/funny/great/worth reading.  BIG SIGH OF RELIEF.  I was on cloud nine, no maybe that was cloud twenty I was feeling so high.  Here’s the lesson – take the time to read books on how to craft a query, then follow the advice.  Work at it until  you have one page or less – no more.  Get others to read it.  I had a typo in mine – that ten people, including myself, failed to catch.  So, get at least eleven people to read your query before you send it off.  It’s worth the effort!

 

One Response to “PNWA Conference – Query Session”

  1. Will have to remember to post this event on our company’s blogsite next year. Looked like a great event!


Leave a Reply

